#47 & 48 Random Act of Kindness

Scatter Kindness

#47 Random Act of Kindness – 100 day challenge.

All Acts of Kindness are written in the participants own words and the only purpose of this challenge was to scatter kindness.

024

Check out line karma #1.

Try this sometime if you want to REALLY have a great day:

You will probably be in line at a grocery or retail store one day when a man, woman or family clearly needs the items in their cart but can’t pay for it; maybe they are short of cash, or their card won’t work.  Offer to pay the difference of what they owe, or pay for the whole thing. They will remember forever the day when someone did something so nice for them.  You will carry the wonderful feeling with you–forever.  The last time I had the opportunity to do this the father gave me first a handshake, then a hug.  I told him many people had helped me out at various times throughout my life and that I hoped when he could he would pay it forward.  He promised he would.  As he left his son asked him, “Who was that nice lady?”  My heart melted.  The check out cashier looked at me like I was crazy.

More crazy #2

I often get asked to give donations to area organizations throughout the year, and I do what I can.  A few years ago in December I was standing in line to checkout at Walmart, Kmart, one of the marts…and there was a mother with three kids in line behind me.  I noticed that she looked very tired.  The kids seemed clean and well behaved, but certainly didn’t have the newest clothes on.  Her cart was filled with the food staples, nothing frivolous, no soft drinks, beer or liquor; just nutritious food, home supplies.  Maybe some socks, a couple of t-shirts.  Did I mentioned the kids were well behaved? We struck up a conversation and I really liked her vibe. Right then I decided to give her a gift.  When I paid for my items I asked how much I could get in cash back.  I withdrew some money and told her I wanted to give her a gift.  She broke down in tears and said “You’ll never know how much we need this money.”  Actually I do know.  I have had my power cut off, I have lost a job when I had no savings, I have had a bare cupboard when I was hungry.  And someone always helped me out.  So now I do what I can when I can; it is a judgment call about who I choose, and I am so grateful that I have the opportunity to give to someone who needs it.  Pay it forward.

Thank you Donna for this opportunity to share

 #48 no response, no activity.

Have a Flan-tastic Day and Scatter some Kindness,

Donna Flanagin

Random me:  You just never know what someone else’s story might be and how profound your act of kindness will be.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2014/02/25/47-48-random-act-of-kindness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. More and more convinced that most of us at one time or another barely had a dollar to our name.

    • Oh, I think you are correct. I remember once when I was first married, I went to the bank to get $100 out and I was told I didn’t have that much. I had made an arithmetic error in my check book. I went to where Doug was working, bawling my eyes out. He chuckled lovingly and told me everything was going to be alright. That was all I needed, someone to tell me everything was okay. Never forgot that day.

      • Wow, just reading your reply. The beautiful thing about humble beginnings is the fact that we have that to remind us (hopefully) as we move farther away from just getting by, and closer and closer to not worrying too much about money on a day to day basis.

        The reminder being to be kind. To impart hope. And to do them both… everyday. All day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

