#64 & 65 Random Act of Kindness

Scatter Kindness

#64 Random Act of Kindness – 100 day challenge.

All Acts of Kindness are written in the participants own words and the only purpose of this challenge was to scatter kindness.

024

I did my act of kindness back on December 18th, but am just now getting my email out. I liked the idea when you asked me, and then sat down to think. Part of what I liked about this is it gave me time to self-reflect, and in trying to think up something kind, I realized that while I may not consider it often or had not previously realized it, I do a lot of small kindnesses already. Which is very much inline with my values and how I want to live my life.

Before though, I’d always thought of it as something other people did better, and this got me to realize, wait a minute, there is always room for more, but I DO do a lot of kind things myself too.

 Anyway, I decided if it is something I do already, like hold open a door or pay extra when I pay my library fine and tell them to use the extra for someone else’s fine, then it wouldn’t count. I wanted to try something new and challenge myself a bit.

It took a few days, and then I realized, that there was something kind I ALREADY wanted to do but had not done for numerous reasons. I have seen a woman around town for the past year or two who is homeless. And every time I see her, I worry about her and wonder if there is something I can do, if she is warm enough or needs anything to eat, if she is ok.

Recently I noticed the wheels on her cart had become very warn. She had patched them with duct tape, but it was clear that was not going to be a permanent solution. And it struck me how hard it must be to push that cart everywhere she goes, let alone with such run down wheels on it. So I had been thinking for a bit about offering to fix them for her. It wasn’t much, but would hopefully be a small thing that would make daily life a bit better.

I kept my eyes out around town for her in her usual spots, and finally ran into her in the grocery store. I was busy, getting my own groceries, and sort of scared, but I hadn’t seen her around for a bit, and didn’t want to miss her, and so before I reached the car, decided to turn back and go see her for a bit.  I am glad I did.

The first thing I noticed was she had a new cart! No more duct tape wheels. So we struck up a conversation for a bit. Which was nice all on it’s own because when I see her around town, I WANT to talk to her and ask if she needs anything etc, but never do. I’m always too afraid, that she’ll tell me to get lost, or that her needs are far greater than anything I have to offer etc. And then I feel bad when I don’t just talk to her, because I see her everywhere.

So we talked.  She says she doesn’t need anything really, except a home, and those are obviously hard to come by. She has warm clothes, hats, and mittens etc. When it gets too cold at night, she sneaks into her storage unit, and sleeps there. The police look after her, she said one night when the temperature dropped, they took her in and let her spend the night in the lobby of the station. And one of them bought her a pair of furry boots she says are very warm.

She just started a small job at the grocery store organizing their magazines for them. She is discouraged by the lack of adequate shelter space. She is very polite and super easy to talk to. I’m glad I know a bit more about her, and can now say hello whenever I see her around.


She insisted she didn’t need anything, when I asked and said I worried about her out there in the cold. So I offered her a loaf of my pumpkin bread. I just made two, and froze both. She insisted I should just freeze them, I told her I had, but Ididn’t have that much freezer space! (This is true). She said in that case, she would like some, but really I shouldn’t have. So we agreed to meet up later at the library.


In the mean time I went home and made myself dinner. Somehow, the recipe made 1.5X what it normally does. And so I boxed up some dinner for her as well, as I have no idea how long it may have been since she had a home cooked meal, and delivered it and the bread at our appointed time and place. She said thank you, and that I shouldn’t have, and seemed busy, so we parted ways.


I can’t help but feel though, that, in a way, I was imposing my good will upon her, and perhaps I shouldn’t have. I’m not sure. She was quite polite, but adamant she didn’t really need anything, I had a feeling she only said she wouldn’t mind some bread because I wanted to do something to help. I suppose we will see.

I am very glad I took the time to talk to her, and learn her name and introduce myself and learn a bit about her life though. I see her around quite often and often then worry about her and if she is ok and warm enough etc. In addition to it just seeming to be polite to say hi sometimes. Now I can, because we know each others names. 🙂
And I learned to be less afraid I think. Her needs ARE far greater than anything I could provide. But she’s also a person just like me, and just because I can’t fix everything, doesn’t mean some small kindness, or even maybe a friendship, wouldn’t go a long way either.
That’s about it, I’ve seen her a few times since, she mentioned once the food was very good, so I think she DID appreciate it.

#65  No Response, No Activity


 
Have a Flan-tastic Day and Scatter some Kindness,

Donna Flanagin

Random me:  Another great idea is to lay unwanted coupons on the product at the store, and the person that wants that product can use them. 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/64-65-random-act-of-kindness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love how the giver also received an unexpected gift – to be less afraid.

    • You (the reader) does not have the luxury of actually knowing these people like I do. Sometimes it makes the story even more extraordinary.


Leave a Reply

