#29 & 30 Random Act of Kindness

Scatter Kindness

#29 Random Act of Kindness – 100 day challenge.

All Acts of Kindness are written in the participants own words and the only purpose of this challenge was to scatter kindness.

024

Well, this took me a while. I sat there thinking what can I do different? I try to do little random things all the time just out of niceness. Plus I don’t go out in public much during the week. I go to work and usually work through lunch then head home.

So today I went out at lunch. I went to Wal-Mart to grab a few things and as I’m walking down the canned vegetable aisle, I see an elderly woman in a motorized wheelchair. She’s slowly going down the aisle looking diligently.

So I ask…do you need help with something? She said well I’m trying to find asparagus. I said I’m pretty sure I saw it, it’s here somewhere.  As I go to look back down the aisle she hops right out of her wheelchair. I kind of giggle to myself at how quickly she bounced out of there. We spot the asparagus on the top shelf.

As I start to walk away I see her just looking up at it. I said can you reach it ok? She said NO! Again I giggle at how loud and abrupt she responded. I walked over and grabbed a couple cans for her to look at. She decides which ones she wants. I hand them to her.

Then she says “I was watching Dr Oz and he says to take asparagus and blend it up and then take 2 teaspoons in the morning and again at night. It’s good for cancer! My husband has cancer so I’m going to try this.” As I wished her well and walked away I told her apricots are good for cancer too. She smiled and said thank you! I have those at home. I felt good having helped her but then felt so sad to think the person she is growing old with might not be around to finish that journey with her.

I don’t know her whole story and didn’t even get her name but now she is in my thoughts. It wasn’t a very profound act of kindness but yet it has stuck with me all day.

#30 No response, no activity.

 Have a Flan-tastic Day and Scatter some Kindness,

Donna Flanagin

Random me:  This is an excellent example of why we should not judge.  You never know what someone else is going through.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/29-random-act-of-kindness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

