#13 Random Act of Kindness

Scatter Kindness

#13 Random Act of Kindness – 100 day challenge.

All Acts of Kindness are written in the participants own words and the only purpose of this challenge was to scatter kindness.

024

Doing a R.A.K. I had experienced something that made me feel bad until I gave it some thought. I had gone to the Dollar store and a girl in front of me was leaving a frozen food item, she had in her cart, because it was more money than she had thought. As she was leaving I asked the clerk to put it on my bill and tried to give it to her. She absolutely refused to take it, even after I told her it was in honor of a friend. She pointed to the people behind me and said ” give it to them then”. It was kind of strange, I thought it was something they might not want. Luckily, they were happy to take it. Upon reflection I thought that it was meant to be and God meant them to have a little something extra that day.  God always has a plan my friend, and we can only help in ways we are destined to help.

I had a meeting and  I didn’t feel like going as I had a busy day ahead. However I knew that if I didn’t go and invite the new member I was sponsoring, she would not meet the attendance requirements and would have to wait longer to join and would be disappointed.

I was able to talk to our local housing opportunities and ask what was needed for their pantry. Now I can spend the money I collected for that at an open house a while back.

I also decided to go to the university to support a friend who was going to be giving a talk and was nervous about it. I called up another friend and asked her to come for moral support. Luckily, I had found a newspaper cutting with a picture of my friend, who was giving the presentation, from a year ago. It was a very nice picture of her.  I showed it to her before the talk and I think that made her feel good and a little relaxed. I also ended up giving her a ride after the talk and telling her how well she did.

Later in the day I decided to take some books to donate to the library. I had been saving these as they were from a friend who passed away. They were in brand new condition and I thought I would get around to reading them. Well, I have plenty of books and it felt good to give them away. The young man at the counter asked if I wanted a donation slip for my taxes but I said no. The books were not really mine, just going through me.

Then I decided to take some plastic newspaper bags along with a small donation to the animal shelter but was late in getting there and they were closed so these are still in my car. The day ended with me trudging through snow checking out a rental house for a lady and advising her what she needed to do and fix to rent it for more money.

Overall, it was a good day and I was glad I was able help in some ways.

 Thank you very much for all you do and encourage us to do.

 Have a Flan-tastic Day and Scatter some Kindness,

Donna Flanagin

Random me:  I too have had bad experiences doing some R.A.K’s, but who are we to judge what ripple effect it may have had that we didn’t see?

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2014/02/01/13-random-act-of-kindness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

