#9 & #10 Random Acts of Kindness

Scatter Kindness

#9 & #10 Random Act of Kindness – 100 day challenge.

All Acts of Kindness are written in the participants own words and the only purpose of this challenge was to scatter kindness.

024

I began thinking about who would be the recipient of my random act of kindness… looking, thinking… when it was right in front of me. Staff member didn’t look her usual upbeat self. My day was whelmed with “stuff” and I could easily have simply let her leave without asking “is everything ok?”  I asked and she simply melted with NO  I need to talk.  Opened my office, shared a cup of tea and listened to her anxiety over plan for her son’s evaluation for special services in school. Second guessing what is due to a disease and neurological problems, what was there all along, what if it doesn’t get better, what if!!!!!  What will an IEP be like?  I listened and heard… tell her!… I need to tell her I was in her shoes years ago with my son.  I shared my fears, the successes and all the stuff in between.  Later on my way home, I remembered I had taken a picture of a rainbow that sustained me during anxious times. Sent it to her with a message I clung to: “The rainbow is there after the rain, waiting for the  sun to make its full splendor visible. You will get through the rain, You are the sun in your son’s life.”

She sent a tearful thanks.

 I felt strong and relaxed… this act of kindness gave me a gift of seeing my own abilities to overcome.  Thank you for the gift!

#10 Random Act of Kindess

No Activity, no reponse.

 Have a Flan-tastic Day and Scatter some Kindness,

Donna Flanagin

Random me: Reach out, your experiences can often help others. 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/9-10-random-acts-of-kindness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you. These posts are inspiring to see how we can spread kindness every day.

    • Thanks Patty. It is fun for me to re-read them again.

  2. The aha moment in this one is that the comforter was once in a deep dark place.

    In reality, it is all of us. We’ve all been in a deep, dark place(s). For varying degrees of time (years, decades even).

    Part of our healing and comfort is in paying it forward (paying it back, or both).

    Beautiful story. The power to observe and pay attention to others, the power of kindness to listen and not judge.

    • Listen and not judge, these are words to live by! Thanks for reading, commenting and inspiring.

      • You’re welcome. Kindness is as kindness does. 🙂


Leave a Reply

