Attention to Detail

It will come as no surprise to most of you that I am a Disney fan.

One of the things I enjoy most on my trip is studying Disney’s attention to detail.

On my recent trip we stayed at the Boardwalk for the first time. On the first morning while sipping coffee on my balcony I noticed an employee leaf blowing the sidewalk. I also noticed that there were not that many leaves on the walk and wondered if Disney does this at all resorts. Staggering miles of walks to maintain.

20130917-065110.jpg

On day two I again noticed an employee leaf blowing, but this time I noticed something special. As two guests approached, the employee turned off the blower, stepped aside to let the guests pass and then resumed her duties.

20130917-065213.jpg

On day three I was greeted with a truck, generator and two employees. Now I have to admit that it was quite noisy but this one blew my mind. This day they were scrubbing the walks with a hand-operated floor type scrubber. As you can see in the picture, it was clearly making a difference.

20130917-065247.jpg

Disney’s attention to detail is astounding.

Have a Flan-tastic Day and pay attention to detail around you. It can change your perspective.

Donna Flanagin

Random me: I am the Fairy GladMother in the Popcorn Parade. Shhhh…don’t tell the children.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2013/09/17/attention-to-detail/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Donna, love reading your posts. And what struck me reading this one is what you find astounding is something that I wouldn’t call out as anything special. It’s just what we do. We do it all the time and everywhere.

    Yes there are exceptions and misfires, but they are rare.

    Glad you enjoyed your vacation and thank you so much for your loyalty to the brand – Magic! 🙂

    • Oh what a magical world it would be if everyone “just had” this attention to detail. One business at a time, right?

  2. Observing and learning all about Disney’s attention to detail and their high standards for customer service are my favorite activities when we are down there.

    • With these eyes, you can see a completely different Disney than other people. For me it is where so much of the magic is.

  3. Listening to your conversation Donna and Patty reminds me of why we all do what we do in our ‘town’.

    it’s an obligation, a commitment, a legacy – to create a Magical place where wonderful people (like you and your Families) can forget about reality for a few hours or a few days.

    • It goes far beyond the time we spend there. A picture, a song, a commercial can bring you right back to the magic for a moment. Doesn’t matter why it happens, just glad it does. May the magic live on for many generations to come, but you are correct, it will not and cannot without people like you keeping it alive. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

