Life isn’t fair

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday.

He died April 25, 1971 at the age of 48.

Sometimes life isn’t fair.

He lives on in my heart and in my memory.

Often wonder what his life would have been like if he had not passed at such a young age.

Often wonder what my life would have been like if he had not left me when I was 19 years old.

Have a wonder-filled day,

Donna Flanagin

Random me:  I no longer fear death, but I don’t look forward to dying.

Published in: on March 31, 2011 at 6:38 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/life-isnt-fair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry for your loss. Vert thought-provoking post.

    • I really knew so little about life at 19 and he had so much he could have taught me. 40 years is a long time.

  2. Donna,

    I am very sorry for your loss. December 23, 1977 is the day my father passed. I often wonder what would be different.

    Make the most with each day, not in revelry, but in humble service.

    Peace to you, my friend.

    • Oh David, on Christmas Eve? Peace be with you also. It’s been a long time for you too and you must have been very young.

      • So true Donna,
        My kids lost their dad when he was 45 and they were 16 and 13. His birthday was Feb. 28th and we emailed back and forth that day. I know our lives would have been very different if he was here but, by God’s grace we carry on and cherish each day and our wonderful family and friends.Many blessings my friend.

      • Many blessings to you too. It was a glorious day when I met you. Thank you for doing such a wonderful job for Monica and Jody, you are awesome. I am not sure I know a harder working woman!!

  3. Thank you!! I think you work extremely hard too but make it sound so easy and fun.Our community is lucky to have such a caring facilitator for all the wish lists of those in need.

  4. I’m very sorry for your loss. Each day is such a gift. And it saddens me when I see people not realizing this until it is too late, and their gift is gone from this earth.

    • Thanks Patty. Each day IS a gift. I personally have grown so much in the past few years. Probably has something to do with being “over the hill” so to speak. Thanks for taking the time to comment, it is very much appreciated.

      • Truth be told: Though I am over the hill as well, I’m enjoying the view.


Leave a Reply

