How Important are Statistics?

How important is the door?

 

I was inspired by Seth Godin’s blog today.

Is something important because you measure it, or is it measured because it’s important? (via Seth’s blog)

While statistics can be fun, should we be so concerned with numbers?

What’s more important….

…..how many people drive by our store, or how many people walk through the door?

…..how many people walk through the door, or how many people actually make a purchase?

….how many people read our blogs or how many people remember us when they need our services?

Maybe we should measure how much time we spend on statistics?

Have a wonder-filled day,

Donna Flanagin

Random me:  I fell down the stairs the morning of my wedding and had bruises the size of Texas.  It was okay because nothing was broken and they were all covered by the dress.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2011/03/05/how-important-are-statistics/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Being a numbers geek, I am sitting here on my day off typing in sales figures from every day we did business in 2010 and setting up formulas to track our progress through 2011.

    Just because I’m looking backwards at where we’ve been doesn’t mean I can’t see where I’m going.

    Keep moving forward!

    • As you know, I kept track of how much money we saved our customer in postage last year. It was one figure I thought would pack some punch. It is very easy to get caught up in numbers that don’t really matter, but are fun to know. Time is so valuable, that I keep having to evaluate how I’m spending it.

  2. Donna, Seth is the guru of Marketing insight. Agree with everything you wrote today.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read jeff. Love your comments as always.


Leave a Reply

