Disney Institute – How Twitter Made the Difference

Proudly displaying the BusinessWeek.com article

I was doing my early morning ritual of checking twitter, facebook, linkedin, etc, etc, etc.

While making my pit stop on twitter to @Disney Institute, I noticed their shout-out looking for people who had attended a Disney Institute workshop and wanted to talk about their experience.

Well I knew I loved to talk about my experience but was there anything a small business owner in Indiana had to say that was worth telling a Fortune 100 company?

I have to tell you, I am so glad I faced that little insecurity.

Before I knew it, I was having a laid-back  telephone interview with a delightful woman from the Disney Institute.  Just discussing what I learned and how I adapted it to my business.  Simple, sweet, and no guarantees that our conversation would be used.

Fast forward to Wednesday Dec 2, I was checking my emails as I all to often do, and there it was ” The Google Alert.”    There was something about this google alert that just looked different.  What could it be?  I was one “double-click” away from my 15 minutes of  BusinessWeek.com fame .

Lessons learned –  sign up for google alerts, face your insecurities and don’t underestimate the power of this thing called “social media”.

Check out some of my favorite sites in alphabetical order to avoid playing favorites !!

Adventures with Ben ~ click here

BusinessWeek.com ~ click here

Disney Institute ~ click here

It’s All About the Customer ~ click here

junglejeff.net ~ click here

Mid Life Celebration ~ click here

Open Mike ~ click here

The Disney Driven Life ~ click here

ValpoLife.com ~ click here

Thanks for stopping by my blog.  I really appreciate it and have a wonder-filled day,

Donna Flanagin

Random me: I believe in the Law of Attraction.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/disney-institute-how-twitter-made-the-difference/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are good at facing your insecurities- I have alot to learn from you!!! That really was a fabulous connection – I need to learn twitter! I do believe in the law of attraction too!!!

    • Insecurities? What insecurities?

  2. Donna, proof once again, that social media has untapped potential.
    Thank you for being you, and sharing today’s post.

    • That is an understatement, isn’t it? We have no idea where this “new world” is headed, but I up for the ride.

  3. WOW.

    Donna I am humbled and honored to be mentioned on your list. Thanks for being a follower and supporter of my blog, too. Keep up the great work!

    You are making a difference!

    • Honesty is always the best policy. I do check all of these sites everyday, and a few more I didn’t list :-). Enjoy each and every one, truly.

  4. congratulations on the article and for taking a chance! Great things are headed your way I’m sure.

    • Thanks, Ben. At 58 years old, great things have already come my way. A wonderful understanding husband of 38 years, two beautiful daughters who I adore, 4 precious grandchildren that I couldn’t love more, a lovely home, great friends, a near perfect job and enough money to take vacations occasionally. Everything else will be icing on the proverbial cake. Next, goal…..moving to Orlando area.

      • Donna, you are a very wise person, and it’s refreshing to see your life unfold.
        Now, what’s this talk of Orlando?

      • Haven’t I mentioned that moving to Orlando is one of our goals? My husband and I have wanted to move there for years. Have some complicated business things to wrap up before we can actually make the move. Will it ever happen? I can only hope 🙂 It’s on my vision board !!

      • There’s so much for me to say here, from my perspective!
        Donna, know that we may be cut from the same cloth! 🙂

      • I’m mostly cotton trimmed in satin 🙂 striving to be mostly satin with threads of cotton running through.

  5. BTW, it was a Google Alert that led me here.

    🙂

    ºoº

    • That is so cool. Really do appreciate you stopping by.

  6. Donna, time for a new post?
    Congrats on climbing over the 1,000 hits milestone.

    • Wow, 1000 must be my lucky number this week. $1000 goal raised for Ronald McDonald House and 1,000 hits. BTW, I forgot to watch my hits numbers. As for the new post, now that the fundraiser is over, I hope to post again. Also, stay tuned for the grand total. “It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.”


Leave a Reply

