Disney Institute – Transforming a Small Business

The Notebook

I never envisioned that the Disney Institute (D.I.) would transform my business,  but I must confess,  it did.  Don’t get me wrong,  it didn’t happen overnight.  In fact, it has been an ongoing process ever since my first Back Stage Magic tour in 2005.  That tour led to a full 5-day workshop Disney’s Value Chain Unlocking the Magic in your Business in 2008 in Orlando Florida and subsequently a Keys to Excellence workshop later in 2008 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

In the coming days, I plan to blog about my D.I. experiences and how they affected a small Bulk Mail business in Valparaiso, Indiana.  I will give you my perspective, details and photos on what I have learned and how I have implemented it into my business.  I have no affiliation with D.I., I just want to share my thoughts.

I began with the misconception that the D.I. workshops were geared only towards large wealthy corporations with CEO’s, COO’s, CFO’s or any other “O’s” you can think of.  The truth is the workshops are beneficial to any business, large or small it doesn’t matter.  What does matter, is what you do with the information after you leave the excitement of the facilitators and the workshops.

I now realize that I too am the C.E.O. of my small business, Chief Excitement Officer.  Who knew?

I will confess right here and now that I was scared to death to put myself in the same room with these huge corporations, but I am so glad I did and I have no regrets.

Thanks for reading and have a wonder-filled day.

Donna Flanagin

Random Me: I like summer rain storms.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/disney-institute-transforming-a-small-business/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Donna, this is exciting. Can’t wait to hear your impressions.

    • Thanks, I’ll do my best.

  2. I want to be a Chief Excitement Officer!! Looking forward to hearing how you gotthere.

    • You already are the CEO Mike! Just ask your family 🙂

  3. Good morning Donna & Mike.
    This is cool.
    Keep blogging Donna.

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Have a safe and relaxing holiday.

  4. Being a Chief Excitement Officer sounds like a fun and very worthwhile position. I know you told me a little about what you learned at D.I. but it will be nice to see you put it into words on a screen. I know it impacted both you and your business in a very positive way.

    • Nicole, thanks for reading. More fun stuff to come. I’ll learn a little about writing from your blogs and you can maybe learn a little about me from mine.


Leave a Reply

