Growing Pains

Our view

It was a tough decision to move the business out of my basement. I was going to have to give up the luxury of working in the wee hours of the morning, no commute and not to mention an awesome view. (Our walk-out basement is literally 30 feet from the water’s edge of Lake Louise.) No more throwing a load of laundry in, getting dinner started nor blending work and personal life so easily.

There was no denying it, we had outgrown the basement. I had an advantage that most small business do not, my husband and I already owed a building/warehouse that was 5 minutes from the post office. The upstairs apartment became vacant so we decided it was time to converted it into my offices. The main level became the production area. No more moving mail up and down the stairs, it was so nice.

Within two days of moving, I outwardly admitted it was a good decision. Our home was back to a home, my business was more visible and convenient for our customers and 5:00 p.m. meant it was time to go home. I have not regretted the move, not one little bit.

Have a wonder-filled day,
Donna Flanagin

Published in: on June 27, 2010 at 9:57 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bulkmail4u.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/growing%c2%a0pains/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yours is a really cool story.
    Like the way you don’t make the entries too long.
    Each day brings a new element of surprise.
    Nice work.

    • Hard to “write tight”. Creating my company history (traditions). Maybe for the grandkids.

  2. At some point there should be separation between work and living spaces. I know I function differently when I’m in an office, or even sitting at a cafe writing (some place that isn’t home) compared to me working at home.

    It’s awesome your business has grown so much to move from a basement into that big space you have. It’s wonderful to see progress.

    • Thanks Nichole, I am glad I am lucky enough to have the option. In recent times I am sure many people have closed up shop and moved back home.


Leave a Reply

